UC Davis Mathematics

Regular Faculty

Javier Arsuaga
Mathematical Molecular Biology and Genetics
Office: MSB 2115
Phone: 530-754-0308
Email: jarsuaga@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 108
Office Hours: Wed 12:00-1:00

Eric Babson
Algebraic and topological combinatorics
Office: MSB 2109
Phone: 530-754-0306
Email: babson@math.ucdavis.edu
Zhaojun Bai
Scientific computing
Office: Kemper 3005
Phone: 530-752-4874
Email: bai@math.ucdavis.edu
Craig John Benham
Biomathematical sciences
Office: MSB 2144
Phone: 530-754-0386
Email: benham@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT017B
Office Hours: W 11:30 - 12:30

Joseph Biello
Applied Math, Atmospheric Sciences
Office: MSB 3150
Phone: 530-754-0487
Email: biello@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 207B
Office Hours: F 11-1

James Bremer
Harmonic Analysis
Office: MSB 2230
Phone: 530-754-6887
Email: bremer@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT271
Office Hours: M 4-5

Erik L Carlsson
Office: MSB 2103
Phone: 530-754-0274
Email: ecarlsson@math.ucdavis.edu
Roger Casals
Contact and Symplectic Topology
Office: MSB 3214
Email: casals@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 145
Office Hours: M 4:30-5:30pm, W 3-4pm

Rishidev Chaudhuri
Email: rchaudhuri@math.ucdavis.edu
Jesus De Loera
Discrete & computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3228
Phone: 530-754-0502
Email: deloera@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22A + Advising of majors
Office Hours: MAT 22A: Monday+ Wednesday 4-5pm, Wednesday 12:30pm-1:30pm or via email appointment.

Tudor Dimofte
Office: MSB 3133
Phone: 530-754-0468
Email: tudor@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B, MAT 205A
Office Hours: M 4-5 (21B), W 2-3 (205A)

Albert Fannjiang
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3226
Phone: 530-754-0499
Email: fannjiang@math.ucdavis.edu
Roland W Freund
Scientific computing
Office: MSB 2140
Phone: 530-752-1660
Email: freund@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 128B
Office Hours: W 12:45 - 2:45 pm

Elena Fuchs
Office: MSB 3109
Phone: 530-754-0393
Email: efuchs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 115B
Office Hours: M 11-12PM; W 1:10-2:10PM

Evgeny Gorskiy
Algebraic Geometry, Representation Theory
Office: MSB 2113
Phone: 530-754-0307
Email: egorskiy@math.ucdavis.edu
Janko Gravner
Probability
Office: MSB 3210
Phone: 530-752-0825
Email: gravner@math.ucdavis.edu
Niels Gronbech-Jensen
Applied Mathematics
Office: MSB 3212
Phone: 530-752-5335
Email: ngjensen@math.ucdavis.edu
Robert Guy
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2136
Phone: 530-754-9201
Email: guy@math.ucdavis.edu
Joel Hass
Geometry and topology
Office: MSB 2222
Phone: 530-754-0236
Email: hass@math.ucdavis.edu
John Hunter
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3230
Phone: 530-754-0503
Email: hunter@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 127A
Office Hours: MW 3:30-5:00p

Adam J. Jacob
Office: MSB 2111
Phone: 530-754-8158
Email: ajacob@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21C
Office Hours: Wed 11-12, Thur 11-12, and by appointment

Michael Kapovich
Complex & hyperbolic manifolds, topology
Office: MSB 2224
Phone: 530-754-0224
Email: kapovich@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 215B
Office Hours: Monday, 9:50-10:40 AM. Wednesday, 9:50-10:40 AM

Matthias Koeppe
Discrete Optimization
Office: MSB 3143
Phone: 530-754-0479
Email: mkoeppe@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 145, MAT 168
Office Hours: T 02:40-4:00, R 11:00-12:20

Greg Kuperberg
Topology and combinatorics
Office: MSB 2216
Email: greg@math.ucdavis.edu
Timothy Lewis
Mathematical physiology, neuroscience
Office: MSB 2146
Phone: 530-754-0385
Email: tjlewis@math.ucdavis.edu
Fu Liu
Enumerative and Algebraic Combinatorics
Office: MSB 3220
Phone: 530-754-0496
Email: fuliu@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B
Office Hours: W 2:30-3:30pm, F 11-11:55am

Kevin Luli
Analysis
Office: MSB 3136
Phone: 530-754-0472
Email: kluli@math.ucdavis.edu
Martin Thanh Luu
Office: MSB 3238
Phone: 530-754-0505
Email: mluu@math.ucdavis.edu
Shiqian Ma
Optimization
Office: MSB 3141
Phone: 530-754-0476
Email: sqma@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT-135A
Office Hours: M 10-11:50am

Ben Morris
Probability theory, stochastic processes
Office: MSB 2105
Phone: 530-754-0286
Email: morris@math.ucdavis.edu
Motohico Mulase
Complex geometry
Office: MSB 3103
Phone: 530-754-0390
Email: mulase@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B
Office Hours: M 11:00-13:00

Bruno Nachtergaele
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3142
Phone: 530-754-0478
Email: bxn@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 201B
Office Hours: Wed 2-3pm, Thu 4-5pm.

Brian Osserman
Algebraic Geometry
Office: MSB 3218
Phone: 530-752-8261
Email: osserman@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B
Office Hours: M 1-2, W 3-4, F 11-12

Elbridge Gerry Puckett
Scientific computation
Office: MSB 3107
Phone: 530-754-0392
Email: egp@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 167 M W F 3:10 - 4:00 IN 106 OLSEN
Office Hours: M W 4:10 - 5:00 PM in 3107 MSB

Luis Rademacher
Office: MSB 2228
Phone: 530-754-0209
Email: lrademac@math.ucdavis.edu
Dan Romik
Probability theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 2218
Email: romik@math.ucdavis.edu
Naoki Saito
Computational mathematics
Office: MSB 2142
Phone: 530-754-2121
Email: saito@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B; MAT 180
Office Hours: MW 5:10pm-6:00pm (21B); MW 3:10pm-3:50pm (180)

Anne Schilling
Combinatorics and representation theory
Office: MSB 3222
Phone: 530-754-0497
Email: anne@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A, 246
Office Hours: M2-3pm or after any of the classes

Jennifer Schultens
Topology, Knot Theory
Office: MSB 2101
Phone: 530-754-0267
Email: jcs@math.ucdavis.edu
Albert Schwarz
Mathematical physics and topology
Office: MSB 3105
Phone: 530-754-0391
Email: schwarz@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: mat250B Algebra
Office Hours: Friday 12:10 PM-1 PM

Steve Shkoller
Partial differential equations
Office: MSB 3101
Phone: 530-754-0389
Email: shkoller@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21C
Office Hours: MW 4-5

Alexander Soshnikov
Probability and mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3140
Phone: 530-754-0475
Email: soshniko@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT202
Office Hours: TR 1:10-2pm, plus by appointment

Laura Starkston
Office: MSB 2238
Email: lstarkston@math.ucdavis.edu
Thomas Strohmer
Computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3144
Phone: 530-752-1071
Email: strohmer@math.ucdavis.edu
(John) Blake Temple
General relativity and shock waves
Office: MSB 3148
Phone: 530-752-2214
Email: temple@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D, MAT 185A
Office Hours: MWF 2:30-3:45

Becca Thomases
Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations
Office: MSB 2138
Phone: 530-754-0491
Email: thomases@math.ucdavis.edu
Abigail Thompson
Topology
Office: MSB 2220
Phone: 530-754-0242
Email: thompson@math.ucdavis.edu
Craig A. Tracy
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3146
Phone: 530-754-0481
Email: tracy@math.ucdavis.edu
Monica Vazirani
Representation theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 3224
Phone: 530-754-0498
Email: vazirani@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Mat 150a, Mat 16b
Office Hours: 150a: Wed 5:10-6 (occasional Fridays); 16b: Weds 11-11:50

Mariel Vazquez
Mathematical Biology, DNA Topology
Office: MSB 2150
Phone: 530-754-0383
Email: mariel@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17C
Office Hours: W 3:10-4p

Sam Walcott
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2148
Phone: 530-754-0384
Email: swalcott@math.ucdavis.edu
Andrew K. Waldron
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3138
Phone: 530-754-0473
Email: wally@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 141
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:30

Qinglan Xia
Analysis and geometry
Office: MSB 3216
Phone: 530-754-0493
Email: qlxia@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 125B, MAT 127B
Office Hours: TR 12:50~1:50pm (127B); TR 1:50~2:50pm (125B);

Krener Assistant Professors

Lecturers

Emeriti