UC Davis Mathematics

Regular Faculty

Javier Arsuaga
Mathematical Molecular Biology and Genetics
Office: MSB 2115
Phone: 530-754-0308
Email: jarsuaga@math.ucdavis.edu
Eric Babson
Algebraic and topological combinatorics
Office: MSB 2109
Phone: 530-754-0306
Email: babson@math.ucdavis.edu
Zhaojun Bai
Scientific computing
Office: Kemper 3005
Phone: 530-752-4874
Email: bai@math.ucdavis.edu
Craig John Benham
Biomathematical sciences
Office: MSB 2144
Phone: 530-754-0386
Email: benham@math.ucdavis.edu
Joseph Biello
Applied Math, Atmospheric Sciences
Office: MSB 3150
Phone: 530-754-0487
Email: biello@math.ucdavis.edu
James Bremer
Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing
Office: MSB 2230
Phone: 530-754-6887
Email: bremer@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT22A
Office Hours: MW 12:30 - 1:30 PM

Erik L Carlsson
Representation theory, algebraic geometry, combinatorics
Office: MSB 2101
Phone: 530-754-0274
Email: ecarlsson@math.ucdavis.edu
Roger Casals
Contact and Symplectic Topology
Office: MSB 3214
Email: casals@math.ucdavis.edu
Rishidev Chaudhuri
Neural Computation and Neuroscience
Office: MSB 2148
Email: rchaudhuri@math.ucdavis.edu
Jesus De Loera
Discrete & computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3228
Phone: 530-754-0502
Email: deloera@math.ucdavis.edu
Tudor Dimofte
Structures in Quantum Field Theory
Office: MSB 3133
Phone: 530-754-0468
Email: tudor@math.ucdavis.edu
Albert Fannjiang
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3226
Phone: 530-754-0499
Email: fannjiang@math.ucdavis.edu
Martin Fraas
Office: MSB 3105
Email: fraas@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16C
Office Hours: T 5-6p

Roland W Freund
Scientific computing
Office: MSB 2140
Phone: 530-752-1660
Email: freund@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D, MAT 128A
Office Hours: M 3:30 - 4:30 pm, W 11:30 am - 12:30 pm (21D) ; M 12:00 - 1:30 pm (128A)

Elena Fuchs
Geometric group theory and number theory
Office: MSB 3109
Phone: 530-754-0393
Email: efuchs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 250A
Office Hours: MWF 10-10:50AM and by appointment

Eugene Gorskiy
Algebraic Geometry, Representation Theory
Office: MSB 2113
Phone: 530-754-0307
Email: egorskiy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17B
Office Hours: MW 3-4, F 2-3

Janko Gravner
Probability
Office: MSB 3210
Phone: 530-752-0825
Email: gravner@math.ucdavis.edu
Niels Gronbech-Jensen
Applied Mathematics
Office: MSB 3212
Phone: 530-752-5335
Email: ngjensen@math.ucdavis.edu
Robert Guy
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2136
Phone: 530-754-9201
Email: guy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Math 17A D sections
Office Hours: Tu 4-5; WF 4-4:30

Joel Hass
Geometry and topology
Office: MSB 2222
Phone: 530-754-0236
Email: hass@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A
Office Hours: Monday 3-4 and Wednesday 3-5

John Hunter
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3230
Phone: 530-754-0503
Email: hunter@math.ucdavis.edu
Adam J. Jacob
Office: MSB 2111
Phone: 530-754-8158
Email: ajacob@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 201A
Office Hours: Tuesday 10-11, Wednesday 2-3

Michael Kapovich
Hyperbolic geometry, geometric topology, geometric group theory
Office: MSB 3147
Phone: 530-754-0224
Email: kapovich@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 215A
Office Hours: Monday, Friday, 15:10-16:00 PM.

Matthias Koeppe
Discrete Optimization
Office: MSB 3143
Phone: 530-754-0479
Email: mkoeppe@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 168
Office Hours: see Canvas

Greg Kuperberg
Topology and combinatorics
Office: MSB 2216
Email: greg@math.ucdavis.edu
Timothy Lewis
Mathematical physiology, neuroscience
Office: MSB 2146
Phone: 530-754-0385
Email: tjlewis@math.ucdavis.edu
Fu Liu
Enumerative and Algebraic Combinatorics
Office: MSB 3220
Phone: 530-754-0496
Email: fuliu@math.ucdavis.edu
Kevin Luli
Analysis
Office: MSB 3136
Phone: 530-754-0472
Email: kluli@math.ucdavis.edu
Martin Thanh Luu
Office: MSB 3238
Phone: 530-754-0505
Email: mluu@math.ucdavis.edu
Shiqian Ma
Optimization
Office: MSB 3141
Phone: 530-754-0476
Email: sqma@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT-168, MAT-258A
Office Hours: W 11-11:50am (168); W 10-10:50am (258A)

Ben Morris
Probability theory, stochastic processes
Office: MSB 2105
Phone: 530-754-0286
Email: morris@math.ucdavis.edu
Motohico Mulase
Complex geometry
Office: MSB 3103
Phone: 530-754-0390
Email: mulase@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A
Office Hours: RF 4-5p (Online)

Bruno Nachtergaele
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3142
Phone: 530-754-0478
Email: bxn@math.ucdavis.edu
Elbridge Gerry Puckett
Scientific computation
Office: MSB 3107
Phone: 530-754-0392
Email: egp@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 228A M W F 3:10 - 4:00 ONLINE
Office Hours: M W 4:00 - 5:00 PM ONLINE OR BY APPOINTMENT

Luis Rademacher
Machine Learning, Data, Convex Geometry
Office: MSB 2228
Phone: 530-754-0209
Email: lrademac@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 135 A
Office Hours: W 2:30-3:30pm, online only

Dan Romik
Number theory, combinatorics, probability theory, experimental mathematics
Office: MSB 2218
Email: romik@math.ucdavis.edu
Naoki Saito
Applied & Computational Harmonic Analysis
Office: MSB 2142
Phone: 530-754-2121
Email: saito@math.ucdavis.edu
Anne Schilling
Combinatorics, representation theory, mathematical physics, probability
Office: MSB 3222
Phone: 530-754-0497
Email: anne@math.ucdavis.edu
Jennifer Schultens
Topology, Knot Theory
Office: MSB 3145
Phone: 530-754-0267
Email: jcs@math.ucdavis.edu
Steve Shkoller
Partial differential equations
Office: MSB 3101
Phone: 530-754-0389
Email: shkoller@math.ucdavis.edu
Alexander Soshnikov
Probability and mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3140
Phone: 530-754-0475
Email: soshniko@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 236A
Office Hours: T 11:00 am-01:00 pm plus by appointment

Laura Starkston
Topology
Office: MSB 2238
Email: lstarkston@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 390

Thomas Strohmer
Mathematics of Data Science
Office: MSB 3144
Phone: 530-752-1071
Email: strohmer@math.ucdavis.edu
Blake Temple
General relativity and shock waves
Office: MSB 3148
Phone: 530-752-2214
Email: temple@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D, MAT 185A
Office Hours: MWF 12:15-1:15 (email)

Becca Thomases
Applied Mathematics/Fluid Dynamics
Office: MSB 2138
Phone: 530-754-0491
Email: thomases@math.ucdavis.edu
Abigail Thompson
Topology
Office: MSB 2220
Phone: 530-754-0242
Email: thompson@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 145
Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:00 and by appointment (zoom)

Craig A. Tracy
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3146
Phone: 530-754-0481
Email: tracy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22B (online via Zoom)
Office Hours: MWF, 11:00 -11:30 AM, right after Zoom lecture

Monica Vazirani
Representation theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 3224
Phone: 530-754-0498
Email: vazirani@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Mat 150A
Office Hours: Mondays 1-2; Fridays TBD

Mariel Vazquez
Mathematical Biology, DNA Topology
Office: MSB 2150
Phone: 530-754-0383
Email: mariel@math.ucdavis.edu
Andrew K. Waldron
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3138
Phone: 530-754-0473
Email: wally@math.ucdavis.edu
Qinglan Xia
Analysis and geometry
Office: MSB 3216
Phone: 530-754-0493
Email: qlxia@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 201B, MAT 127B
Office Hours: M 12:50-1:50 (201B); Tu/Th 12:50~1:50p (127B)

Krener Assistant Professors

Tair Akhmejanov
Office: MSB 2214
Email: tair@math.ucdavis.edu
Cesar Arias
Office: MSB 3149
Email: carias@math.ucdavis.edu
Daniel Blanquicett
Probability and Combinatorics
Office: MSB 2133
Email: drbt@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B
Office Hours: T 8:00-9:50a

Anastasia Chavez
Office: MSB 2143
Email: anachavez@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21C
Office Hours: TBD

Stephanie Dodson
Office: MSB 2145
Email: sdodson@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 108
Office Hours: W 4:30 - 5:30pm, R 2-3pm

Martin Gebert
Office: MSB 3151
Email: mgebert@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 127B
Office Hours: TR 10-11

Joshua Howie
Knot Theory, Topology
Phone: MSB 2226
Email: jhowie@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 150A
Office Hours: M 4:10pm C01-C02, M 5:10pm B01

Kathryn Link
Office: MSB 2145
Email: klink@math.ucdavis.edu
David Marsico
Office: MSB 3149
Email: dmarsico@math.ucdavis.edu
Daniel Martin
Office: MSB 2151
Email: dmartin@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A
Office Hours: M 4-5pm, T 9-10am

Didac Martinez-Granado
Office: MSB 3113
Email: dmartinezgranado@math.ucdavis.edu
Kevin O'Neill
Harmonic analysis
Office: MSB 3111
Email: oneill@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 118A, MAT 127A
Office Hours: W 9-10a , F 2-3p (118A), TF 3-4p (127A)

Stefan Schonsheck
Office: MSB 3133
Email: sschonsheck@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 119A
Office Hours: M11am-12pm, W3-4p

Jose Simental Rodriguez
Office: MSB 2147
Phone: 530-754-0337
Email: josesr@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17C
Office Hours: MWF 8:30-9:30am

Annalaura Stingo
Office: MSB 2224
Email: astingo@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: 16B
Office Hours: W 6:10-7p

Lecturers

Emeriti