UC Davis Mathematics

Regular Faculty

Photo of Arsuaga
Javier Arsuaga
Mathematical Molecular Biology and Genetics
Office: MSB 2115
Phone: 530-754-0308
Email: jarsuaga@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT/BIS 27A, MAT 128B
Office Hours: T 9:00-10:00 (128B) and T 12:30-1:30 (27A)

Photo of Babson
Eric Babson
Algebraic and topological combinatorics
Office: MSB 2109
Phone: 530-754-0306
Email: babson@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Bai
Zhaojun Bai
Scientific computing
Office: Kemper 3005
Phone: 530-752-4874
Email: bai@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Benham
Craig John Benham
Biomathematical sciences
Office: MSB 2144
Phone: 530-754-0386
Email: benham@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT017B
Office Hours: W 11:00 - 12:00

Photo of Biello
Joseph Biello
Applied Math, Atmospheric Sciences
Office: MSB 3150
Phone: 530-754-0487
Email: biello@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Bremer
James Bremer
Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing
Office: MSB 2230
Phone: 530-754-6887
Email: bremer@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Carlsson
Erik L Carlsson
Representation theory, algebraic geometry, combinatorics
Office: MSB 2103
Phone: 530-754-0274
Email: ecarlsson@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Casals
Roger Casals
Contact and Symplectic Topology
Office: MSB 3214
Email: casals@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 141
Office Hours: M 4:30-5:30pm, W 4-5pm

Photo of Chaudhuri
Rishidev Chaudhuri
Neural Computation and Neuroscience
Office: MSB 2148
Email: rchaudhuri@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of De Loera
Jesus De Loera
Discrete & computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3228
Phone: 530-754-0502
Email: deloera@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 258B (discrete Optimization)
Office Hours: Tu/Thu at 3:10-4pm and by appointment.

Photo of Dimofte
Tudor Dimofte
Structures in Quantum Field Theory
Office: MSB 3133
Phone: 530-754-0468
Email: tudor@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16A,MAT 180
Office Hours: T 1-2 (16A), Th 1:30-2:30 (180)

Photo of Fannjiang
Albert Fannjiang
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3226
Phone: 530-754-0499
Email: fannjiang@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Freund
Roland W Freund
Scientific computing
Office: MSB 2140
Phone: 530-752-1660
Email: freund@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 226B
Office Hours: W 12:45 - 2:45 pm

Photo of Fuchs
Elena Fuchs
Geometric group theory and number theory
Office: MSB 3109
Phone: 530-754-0393
Email: efuchs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22A
Office Hours: M 9:30-10:30AM, F 10:30-11:30AM

Photo of Gorskiy
Evgeny Gorskiy
Algebraic Geometry, Representation Theory
Office: MSB 2113
Phone: 530-754-0307
Email: egorskiy@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Gravner
Janko Gravner
Probability
Office: MSB 3210
Phone: 530-752-0825
Email: gravner@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT16C, MAT235B
Office Hours: M 10-11a; T 12-1p; W 10-11a

Photo of Gronbech-Jensen
Niels Gronbech-Jensen
Applied Mathematics
Office: MSB 3212
Phone: 530-752-5335
Email: ngjensen@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Guy
Robert Guy
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2136
Phone: 530-754-9201
Email: guy@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Hass
Joel Hass
Geometry and topology
Office: MSB 2222
Phone: 530-754-0236
Email: hass@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Hunter
John Hunter
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3230
Phone: 530-754-0503
Email: hunter@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 218B
Office Hours: T 2:00-3:00p

Photo of Jacob
Adam J. Jacob
Office: MSB 2111
Phone: 530-754-8158
Email: ajacob@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 218A
Office Hours: Tuesday 2-3pm, Wednesday 3-4pm (21B);Thursday 3-4pm (280)

Photo of Kapovich
Michael Kapovich
Hyperbolic geometry, geometric topology, geometric group theory
Office: MSB 2224
Phone: 530-754-0224
Email: kapovich@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 240A
Office Hours: Monday, 9:40-10:30 AM. Wednesday, 9:40-10:30 AM

Photo of Koeppe
Matthias Koeppe
Discrete Optimization
Office: MSB 3143
Phone: 530-754-0479
Email: mkoeppe@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Kuperberg
Greg Kuperberg
Topology and combinatorics
Office: MSB 2216
Email: greg@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Lewis
Timothy Lewis
Mathematical physiology, neuroscience
Office: MSB 2146
Phone: 530-754-0385
Email: tjlewis@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 119A
Office Hours: M 5:00-6:00PM, R 3:00-4:00PM, F 1:30-2:30PM

Photo of Liu
Fu Liu
Enumerative and Algebraic Combinatorics
Office: MSB 3220
Phone: 530-754-0496
Email: fuliu@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B
Office Hours: W 2-3pm, F 11am-noon

Photo of Luli
Kevin Luli
Analysis
Office: MSB 3136
Phone: 530-754-0472
Email: kluli@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Luu
Martin Thanh Luu
Office: MSB 3238
Phone: 530-754-0505
Email: mluu@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Ma
Shiqian Ma
Optimization
Office: MSB 3141
Phone: 530-754-0476
Email: sqma@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT-168
Office Hours: F 2:10-3:50pm

Photo of Morris
Ben Morris
Probability theory, stochastic processes
Office: MSB 2105
Phone: 530-754-0286
Email: morris@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Mulase
Motohico Mulase
Complex geometry
Office: MSB 3103
Phone: 530-754-0390
Email: mulase@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 150B, 248B
Office Hours: T 2-4p and after class meetings

Photo of Nachtergaele
Bruno Nachtergaele
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3142
Phone: 530-754-0478
Email: bxn@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22B
Office Hours: Tue 11am-12pm, Thu 1-2pm.

Photo of Puckett
Elbridge Gerry Puckett
Scientific computation
Office: MSB 3107
Phone: 530-754-0392
Email: egp@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 167 M W F 2:10 - 3:00 IN 250 WELMAN HALL
Office Hours: M W 3:20 - 4:00 PM in 3107 MSB

Photo of Rademacher
Luis Rademacher
Machine Learning, Data, Convex Geometry
Office: MSB 2228
Phone: 530-754-0209
Email: lrademac@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Romik
Dan Romik
Number theory, combinatorics, probability theory, experimental mathematics
Office: MSB 2218
Email: romik@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 67, MAT 205A
Office Hours: F 9:30-10:30 (MAT 67); M 9:30-10:30 (MAT 205A)

Photo of Saito
Naoki Saito
Computational mathematics
Office: MSB 2142
Phone: 530-754-2121
Email: saito@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B Section F
Office Hours: MW 2:00-2:50pm

Photo of Schilling
Anne Schilling
Combinatorics, representation theory, mathematical physics, probability
Office: MSB 3222
Phone: 530-754-0497
Email: anne@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Schultens
Jennifer Schultens
Topology, Knot Theory
Office: MSB 2101
Phone: 530-754-0267
Email: jcs@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Shkoller
Steve Shkoller
Partial differential equations
Office: MSB 3101
Phone: 530-754-0389
Email: shkoller@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D
Office Hours: MW 4-5

Photo of Soshnikov
Alexander Soshnikov
Probability and mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3140
Phone: 530-754-0475
Email: soshniko@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B
Office Hours: T 11:00-11:50 am, R 1:10-2pm, plus by appointment

Photo of Starkston
Laura Starkston
Topology
Office: MSB 2238
Email: lstarkston@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Strohmer
Thomas Strohmer
Mathematics of Data Science
Office: MSB 3144
Phone: 530-752-1071
Email: strohmer@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Temple
(John) Blake Temple
General relativity and shock waves
Office: MSB 3148
Phone: 530-752-2214
Email: temple@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D, MAT 185A
Office Hours: MW 11:15-12:15

Photo of Thomases
Becca Thomases
Applied Mathematics/Fluid Dynamics
Office: MSB 2138
Phone: 530-754-0491
Email: thomases@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Thompson
Abigail Thompson
Topology
Office: MSB 2220
Phone: 530-754-0242
Email: thompson@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Tracy
Craig A. Tracy
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3146
Phone: 530-754-0481
Email: tracy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 135A
Office Hours: MW, 1-2 pm

Photo of Vazirani
Monica Vazirani
Representation theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 3224
Phone: 530-754-0498
Email: vazirani@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Vazquez
Mariel Vazquez
Mathematical Biology, DNA Topology
Office: MSB 2150
Phone: 530-754-0383
Email: mariel@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 108
Office Hours: T 2:10-3:10p

Photo of Walcott
Sam Walcott
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2148
Phone: 530-754-0384
Email: swalcott@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Waldron
Andrew K. Waldron
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3138
Phone: 530-754-0473
Email: wally@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Xia
Qinglan Xia
Analysis and geometry
Office: MSB 3216
Phone: 530-754-0493
Email: qlxia@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 201B, MAT 127B
Office Hours: M 12:50-1:50 (201B); Tu/Th 12:50~1:50p (127B)

Krener Assistant Professors

Photo of Akhmejanov
Tair Akhmejanov
Office: MSB 2214
Email: tair@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 250B
Office Hours: W 10:30am-11:30am

Cesar Arias
Office: MSB 3149
Email: carias@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Blanquicett
Daniel Blanquicett
Probability and Combinatorics
Office: MSB 2133
Email: drbt@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 145
Office Hours: M 03:05-04:05p, R 01:30-03:00p

Photo of Chavez
Anastasia Chavez
Office: MSB 2143
Email: anachavez@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 148
Office Hours: M 10-11:30am; W 11am-12:30pm

Photo of Curry
Sean Curry
Geometry and Complex Analysis
Office: MSB 2151
Email: scurry@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 108
Office Hours: W 10-10:50am, R 3-4pm

Photo of Dodson
Stephanie Dodson
Office: MSB 2145
Email: sdodson@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Gebert
Martin Gebert
Office: MSB 3151
Email: mgebert@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 127A
Office Hours: MWF 10-11

Joshua Howie
Knot Theory, Topology
Phone: MSB 2226
Email: jhowie@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 147
Office Hours: T 9:30am-10:30am, F 10:00am-11:30am

Photo of Krone
Robert Krone
Office: MSB 3145
Phone: 530-754-0480
Email: rkrone@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22A, MAT 150A
Office Hours: M 11-12, W 12-1

Photo of O'Neill
Kevin O'Neill
Harmonic analysis
Office: MSB 3111
Email: oneill@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 127-A
Office Hours: MWF 10-11

Photo of Simental Rodriguez
Jose Simental Rodriguez
Office: MSB 2147
Phone: 530-754-0337
Email: josesr@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17C
Office Hours: MWF 9-10:30am

Photo of Stingo
Annalaura Stingo
Office: MSB 3147
Email: astingo@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: 127B
Office Hours: W 4:45-5:45p

Photo of Trnkova
Maria Trnkova
Office: MSB 2149
Email: mtrnkova@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17B, MAT 111
Office Hours: (MAT 17B) M 11-12 & T 1-2; MAT111: W 11-12

Lecturers

Photo of Burke
Korana Burke
Office: MSB 1109
Email: kburke@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17A
Office Hours: M 1-3p; W 1-3p in 2142 Academic Surge

Photo of Challenor
John Challenor
Office: MSB 1105
Email: jchallenor@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16A, MAT 21B
Office Hours: MWF 1:30 - 4

Photo of Dad-del
Ali A. Dad-del
Office: MSB 2135
Phone: 530-754-0324
Email: daddel@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MATH 17B, 22AL
Office Hours: Monday 9:30-10:30AM; Wed.9:30-10:30AM; Fri. 10AM-11 AM Friday: 10 -11 PM and/or by appt.

Photo of Kouba
Duane Kouba
Office: MSB 3135
Phone: 530-754-0469
Email: kouba@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16B 10 am, Math 16B 2 pm
Office Hours: 3:30-4:30 pm MWF

Photo of Merkx
Peter Merkx
Algebraic Geometry
Office: MSB 1105
Email: pmerkx@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 12, MAT 21D
Office Hours: MW 5:30-6:30p, R 3-5p (21D); MWF 4:15-5:15p (12)

Danquynh Nguyen
Office: MSB 3218
Email: dnguyen@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16A, MAT 21B
Office Hours: MWF 9:30 - 10:30 AM

Photo of Pham
Du Pham
Office: MSB 3113
Email: dupham@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17A, MAT 17B
Office Hours: MWF 11am - 12pm, 2:15-3:15pm, T 10-12 am, and by appointment

Photo of Sanders
Robert Sanders
Office: MSB 3218
Email: rjs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17B, MAT 22A
Office Hours: MW 1-2p (17B); MW 2-3p (22A)

Photo of Tavernetti
Edward (William) Tavernetti
Office: MSB 1103
Phone: 530-754-0175
Email: etavernetti@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Math 21C (in MSB 1103)
Office Hours: MW after class daily and Fridays 11:10-1

Photo of Thomas
Rohit Thomas
Office: MSB 1101
Phone: 530-754-0176
Email: rthomas@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16B, MAT 127C
Office Hours: MWF 2-4:30

Photo of Varn
Dowman Varn
Office: MSB 1109
Email: dpvarn@math.ucdavis.edu

Emeriti