UC Davis Mathematics

Regular Faculty

Javier Arsuaga
Mathematical Molecular Biology and Genetics
Office: MSB 2115
Phone: 530-754-0308
Email: jarsuaga@math.ucdavis.edu
Eric Babson
Algebraic and topological combinatorics
Office: MSB 2109
Phone: 530-754-0306
Email: babson@math.ucdavis.edu
Zhaojun Bai
Scientific computing
Office: Kemper 3005
Phone: 530-752-4874
Email: bai@math.ucdavis.edu
Craig John Benham
Biomathematical sciences
Office: MSB 2144
Phone: 530-754-0386
Email: benham@math.ucdavis.edu
Joseph Biello
Applied Math, Atmospheric Sciences
Office: MSB 3150
Phone: 530-754-0487
Email: biello@math.ucdavis.edu
James Bremer
Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing
Office: MSB 2230
Phone: 530-754-6887
Email: bremer@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT185B and MAT127B
Office Hours: MW 2:10 - 3:00

Erik L Carlsson
Representation theory, algebraic geometry, combinatorics
Office: MSB 2101
Phone: 530-754-0274
Email: ecarlsson@math.ucdavis.edu
Roger Casals
Contact and Symplectic Topology
Office: MSB 3214
Email: casals@math.ucdavis.edu
Rishidev Chaudhuri
Neural Computation and Neuroscience
Office: MSB 2148
Email: rchaudhuri@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17B
Office Hours: MWF 1-1:30p; Th 10-11:30a

Jesus De Loera
Discrete & computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3228
Phone: 530-754-0502
Email: deloera@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21C (discrete Optimization)
Office Hours: Monday/Wednesday at 5:10-6pm and by appointment.

Tudor Dimofte
Structures in Quantum Field Theory
Office: MSB 3133
Phone: 530-754-0468
Email: tudor@math.ucdavis.edu
Albert Fannjiang
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3226
Phone: 530-754-0499
Email: fannjiang@math.ucdavis.edu
Martin Fraas
Office: MSB 3105
Email: fraas@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16C
Office Hours: M 1-2p

Roland W Freund
Scientific computing
Office: MSB 2140
Phone: 530-752-1660
Email: freund@math.ucdavis.edu
Elena Fuchs
Geometric group theory and number theory
Office: MSB 3109
Phone: 530-754-0393
Email: efuchs@math.ucdavis.edu
Eugene Gorskiy
Algebraic Geometry, Representation Theory
Office: MSB 2113
Phone: 530-754-0307
Email: egorskiy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 150C, MAT 215C
Office Hours: MW 3-4 (150C), F 3-4 (215C)

Janko Gravner
Probability
Office: MSB 3210
Phone: 530-752-0825
Email: gravner@math.ucdavis.edu
Niels Gronbech-Jensen
Applied Mathematics
Office: MSB 3212
Phone: 530-752-5335
Email: ngjensen@math.ucdavis.edu
Robert Guy
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2136
Phone: 530-754-9201
Email: guy@math.ucdavis.edu
Joel Hass
Geometry and topology
Office: MSB 2222
Phone: 530-754-0236
Email: hass@math.ucdavis.edu
John Hunter
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3230
Phone: 530-754-0503
Email: hunter@math.ucdavis.edu
Adam J. Jacob
Office: MSB 2111
Phone: 530-754-8158
Email: ajacob@math.ucdavis.edu
Michael Kapovich
Hyperbolic geometry, geometric topology, geometric group theory
Office: MSB 3147
Phone: 530-754-0224
Email: kapovich@math.ucdavis.edu
Matthias Koeppe
Discrete Optimization
Office: MSB 3143
Phone: 530-754-0479
Email: mkoeppe@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 133
Office Hours: see Canvas

Greg Kuperberg
Topology and combinatorics
Office: MSB 2216
Email: greg@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 127C
Office Hours: MWF 2pm-2:30pm

Timothy Lewis
Mathematical physiology, neuroscience
Office: MSB 2146
Phone: 530-754-0385
Email: tjlewis@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17C
Office Hours: MWF 10:50-11:30AM, T 2:00-3:00PM, W 3:30-4:30PM

Fu Liu
Enumerative and Algebraic Combinatorics
Office: MSB 3220
Phone: 530-754-0496
Email: fuliu@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D
Office Hours: Office hours are announced on Canvas course web page

Kevin Luli
Analysis
Office: MSB 3136
Phone: 530-754-0472
Email: kluli@math.ucdavis.edu
Martin Thanh Luu
Office: MSB 3238
Phone: 530-754-0505
Email: mluu@math.ucdavis.edu
Shiqian Ma
Optimization
Office: MSB 3141
Phone: 530-754-0476
Email: sqma@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT-16B
Office Hours: M 2:10-3pm

Ben Morris
Probability theory, stochastic processes
Office: MSB 2105
Phone: 530-754-0286
Email: morris@math.ucdavis.edu
Motohico Mulase
Complex geometry
Office: MSB 3103
Phone: 530-754-0390
Email: mulase@math.ucdavis.edu
Bruno Nachtergaele
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3142
Phone: 530-754-0478
Email: bxn@math.ucdavis.edu
Elbridge Gerry Puckett
Scientific computation
Office: MSB 3107
Phone: 530-754-0392
Email: egp@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 170 M W F 3:10 - 4:00 PM (ONLINE)
Office Hours: M W 4-5 PM (ONLINE) OR BY APPOINTMENT ONLINE

Luis Rademacher
Machine Learning, Data, Convex Geometry
Office: MSB 2228
Phone: 530-754-0209
Email: lrademac@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 135 B
Office Hours: T 3:00-3:45pm, R 10:30-11:15am, online only

Dan Romik
Number theory, combinatorics, probability theory, experimental mathematics
Office: MSB 2218
Email: romik@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT22B, MAT205B
Office Hours: T 9:30-10:20 (MAT22B); W 9:00-9:50 (MAT205B)

Naoki Saito
Applied & Computational Harmonic Analysis
Office: MSB 2142
Phone: 530-754-2121
Email: saito@math.ucdavis.edu
Anne Schilling
Combinatorics, representation theory, mathematical physics, probability
Office: MSB 3222
Phone: 530-754-0497
Email: anne@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 245
Office Hours: MWF 4-5 after every class

Jennifer Schultens
Topology, Knot Theory
Office: MSB 3145
Phone: 530-754-0267
Email: jcs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B
Office Hours: W 4-5:30

Steve Shkoller
Partial differential equations
Office: MSB 3101
Phone: 530-754-0389
Email: shkoller@math.ucdavis.edu
Alexander Soshnikov
Probability and mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3140
Phone: 530-754-0475
Email: soshniko@math.ucdavis.edu
Laura Starkston
Topology
Office: MSB 2238
Email: lstarkston@math.ucdavis.edu
Thomas Strohmer
Mathematics of Data Science
Office: MSB 3144
Phone: 530-752-1071
Email: strohmer@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22A, MAT 270
Office Hours: W 11:10am-12:00 (22A), W 12:10pm-1pm (270)

Blake Temple
General relativity and shock waves
Office: MSB 3148
Phone: 530-752-2214
Email: temple@math.ucdavis.edu
Joseph Michael Teran
Office: MSB 2103
Email: jteran@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 228C
Office Hours: 9-10A (228C)

Becca Thomases
Applied Mathematics/Fluid Dynamics
Office: MSB 2138
Phone: 530-754-0491
Email: thomases@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT280
Office Hours: by appointment only

Abigail Thompson
Topology
Office: MSB 2220
Phone: 530-754-0242
Email: thompson@math.ucdavis.edu
Craig A. Tracy
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3146
Phone: 530-754-0481
Email: tracy@math.ucdavis.edu
Monica Vazirani
Representation theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 3224
Phone: 530-754-0498
Email: vazirani@math.ucdavis.edu
Mariel Vazquez
Mathematical Biology, DNA Topology
Office: MSB 2150
Phone: 530-754-0383
Email: mariel@math.ucdavis.edu
Andrew K. Waldron
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3138
Phone: 530-754-0473
Email: wally@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 239

Qinglan Xia
Analysis and geometry
Office: MSB 3216
Phone: 530-754-0493
Email: qlxia@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21C, MAT 206
Office Hours: Mon/Thur 1:30~2:30pm (21C); Wed 1:30~2:30p (206)

Krener Assistant Professors

Lecturers

Emeriti