Undergraduate Advisers

To help you "navigate" through your academic career, the Department will assign you to a faculty adviser. Although it is your responsibility to know the requirements of your major and to complete those requirements on time, the adviser is there to ensure that you are achieving satisfactory academic progress towards your degree. It is encouraged that you meet with your adviser once a year to review your efforts, especially once you begin your upper division courses.

In addition to your Departmental adviser, we also suggest that you consult Student Advising Services at the Letters and Sciences Deans' Office, for questions about student advising or to schedule an appointment.

STAFF ADVISERS

Adviser Email Room Drop-In Hours Advising Appointments
Malina Gillies-Doherty studentservices@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 1130B F 10:30-11:30 AM &  1:30-2:30 PM

TWR 9-11:30 AM
MTW 1:30-4 PM
 
Link to schedule an appointment:

https://appointments.ucdavis.edu/?office=21

Peer Advisors      
 Jackie   peeradviser@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 1130
MTWRF 2-3 PM

 

Cameron peeradviser@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 1130
WF 11AM - 12PM
R 1-4 PM
 

 

FACULTY ADVISERS

Note: For summer advising, please consult with a Student Services Staff Adviser.

AdviserEmailRoomOffice HoursStudent Last Name Starts With
Prof.Motohico Mulase mulase@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 3103 W 3:30-5P
A - E
Prof. James Bremer bremer@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 2230

R 4-5P

F - K
Prof. Steve Shkoller shkoller@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 3101 T 2-3P
L - O
Dr. Ali Dad-Del daddel@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 2135 MW 10:30-11:30A
Transfer Students: A - M
Prof. Albert Fannjiang fannjiang@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 3226 TBA
Operations Research
Dr. Lawrence Marx marx@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 2133 TR 2-2:30P
P - V  
Prof. Monica Vazirani     vazirani@math.ucdavis.edu    MSB 3224     

TBA

Transfer Students: N - Z
Prof. Abigail Thompson thompson@math.ucdavis.edu MSB 2220

M 2-3P

W - Z


UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH ADVISER

The undergraduate research adviser is a faculty member who has agreed to help students with all details related to a Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU). Primary responsibilities include helping students on finding a mentor, selecting students for available fellowships, and advertising other REU programs and fellowships outside of UC Davis.

AdviserEmailRoomOffice Hours
Prof. Guy Robert undergradresearch@math.ucdavis.edu    MSB   2136  

    By Appt. only