Eric C. Ruliffson Scholarship in Mathematics

Eric Ruliffson attended UC Davis from 1964-1968. He not only loved the study of math, but he excelled in it. He was first and foremost a problem solver, which helped him to achieve life-long personal and professional success. In his memory, this scholarship was established by family and friends as an effort to support financially needy undergraduates of junior and senior standing majoring in mathematics. Applications are typically received in the month of April by the Office of Undergraduate Honors & Scholarships.

For whom is this award given?

This scholarship is restricted to those in the College of Letter and Science, who have declared a major in mathematics. Recipient may have upper or lower division standing, with a preference given to upper division.

Who is eligible?

Recipient shall meet financial need eligibility. Good standing with a current 3.0 GPA overall. The scholarship may be renewed to a previous recipient as long as all other requirements are met.

What is the award amount?

Full award may be split each year to award multiple students. The maximum award is $1,400.00.

What is the selection process?

Applications are initially received by the Office of Undergraduate Honors and Scholarships and forwarded on for evaluation. A committee consisting of three faculty members from the Department of Mathematics will review potential recipients and make their decision no later than June 1. The winning candidate(s) will be notified shortly thereafter.

Past Recipients: Eric C. Ruliffson Scholarship in Mathematics

  • 2006 - Amanda O'Rourke and Kurtis Keller
  • 2007 - James Duncan
  • 2008 - Ying Wang
  • 2009 - Jessica Doolittle
  • 2010 - Bach Nguyen
  • 2011 - Viktor Leshchik
  • 2012 - Chun Yu Hong
  • 2013 - Chun Yu Hong
  • 2014 - Rico Lin and Darya Chumakova
  • 2015 - Luis Ortiz Quintero and Kyle Johnson
  • 2016 - Katherine Kays-Hoepker
  • 2017 - Katharine Scott and Michael Venturino
  • 2018 - Tzu-Feng Leung
  • 2019 - Ulises Jaime-Yepez and Daniel Sandoval
  • 2020 - Alina Kotova
  • 2021 - Veronica Then, Pam Pabla, Inocencio Rangel, Hannah Kennedy, Gurjaap Jhaji