People in the Department of Mathematics

Regular Faculty

Javier Arsuaga
Mathematical Molecular Biology and Genetics
Office: MSB 2115
Phone: 601-4444 x4015
Email: jarsuaga@math.ucdavis.edu
Eric Babson
Algebraic and topological combinatorics
Office: MSB 2109
Phone: 601-4444 x4017
Email: babson@math.ucdavis.edu
Zhaojun Bai
Scientific computing
Office: Kemper 3005
Phone: 752-4874
Email: bai@math.ucdavis.edu
Craig John Benham
Biomathematical sciences
Office: MSB 2144
Phone: 554-9137
Email: benham@math.ucdavis.edu
Joseph Biello
Applied Math, Atmospheric Sciences
Office: MSB 3150
Phone: 554-1209
Email: biello@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D, MAT 118B
Office Hours: M,W 10-10:50

James Bremer
Harmonic Analysis
Office: MSB 2230
Phone: 4-6887
Email: bremer@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT218A
Office Hours: MW 10-11

Erik L Carlsson
Office: MSB 2101
Email: ecarlsson@math.ucdavis.edu
Angela Cheer
Scientific computation
Office: MSB 2138
Email: cheer@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 128A
Office Hours: Mondays 1-2:30pm, Wednesdays 2:30-4pm

Jesus De Loera
Discrete & computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3228
Phone: 554-9702
Email: deloera@math.ucdavis.edu
Tudor Dimofte
Office: MSB 3133
Email: tudor@math.ucdavis.edu
Albert Fannjiang
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3226
Email: fannjiang@math.ucdavis.edu
Roland W Freund
Scientific computing
Office: MSB 2140
Phone: 752-1660
Email: freund@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 168
Office Hours: M 1:45 - 3:45 pm

Elena Fuchs
Office: MSB 3109
Phone: 601-4444 x2005
Email: efuchs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 115A, Sections 1,2
Office Hours: W 9:30-11:30AM

Evgeny Gorskiy
Algebraic Geometry, Representation Theory
Office: MSB 2113
Email: egorskiy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17C, MAT 150A
Office Hours: MWF 1-2pm

Janko Gravner
Probability
Office: MSB 3210
Phone: 752-0825
Email: gravner@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 135A, MAT 235A
Office Hours: M 12-1p; T 1-2p; W 12-1p

Niels Gronbech-Jensen
Applied Mathematics
Office: MSB 3212
Phone: 2-5335
Email: ngjensen@math.ucdavis.edu
Robert Guy
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2136
Phone: 4-9201
Email: guy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Math 226A, Math 17A
Office Hours: 17A: M 4:15-5:30; W 5:30-7; F 2-3
226: W 4:15-5:30; Th 3-4

Joel Hass
Geometry and topology
Office: MSB 2222
Phone: 601-4444 x4003
Email: hass@math.ucdavis.edu
John Hunter
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3230
Phone: 601-4444 x4016
Email: hunter@math.ucdavis.edu
Adam J. Jacob
Office: MSB 2111
Email: ajacob@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21 A
Office Hours: Tu 3-4, W 10:30-12:30

Michael Kapovich
Complex & hyperbolic manifolds, topology
Office: MSB 2224
Phone: 601-4444 x4019
Email: kapovich@math.ucdavis.edu
Matthias Koeppe
Discrete Optimization
Office: MSB 3143
Email: mkoeppe@math.ucdavis.edu
Greg Kuperberg
Topology and combinatorics
Office: MSB 2216
Email: greg@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21C
Office Hours: T 2pm-3pm

Timothy Lewis
Mathematical physiology, neuroscience
Office: MSB 2146
Phone: 601-4444 x4006
Email: tjlewis@math.ucdavis.edu
Fu Liu
Enumerative and Algebraic Combinatorics
Office: MSB 3220
Phone: 601-4444 x4018
Email: fuliu@math.ucdavis.edu
Kevin Luli
Analysis
Office: MSB 3136
Phone: 601-4444 x4005
Email: kluli@math.ucdavis.edu
Martin Thanh Luu
Office: MSB 3238
Email: mluu@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 125A
Office Hours: M 3-5

Shiqian Ma
Office: MSB 3141
Phone: 601-4444 x4021
Email: sqma@math.ucdavis.edu
Ben Morris
Probability theory, stochastic processes
Office: MSB 2105
Phone: 601-4444 x4009
Email: morris@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B
Office Hours: W 2:10-3:10p, F 12-1p

Motohico Mulase
Complex geometry
Office: MSB 3103
Email: mulase@math.ucdavis.edu
Bruno Nachtergaele
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3142
Phone: 601-4444 x4011
Email: bxn@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT21A, MAT201A
Office Hours: For 201A: T 10-11am, R 2-3pm; For 21A: T 11-12n, R 1-2pm

Brian Osserman
Algebraic Geometry
Office: MSB 3218
Phone: 601-4444 x4020
Email: osserman@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21M, MAT 248A
Office Hours: M 1-2, F 11-12 (21M); T 1-2 (248A)

Elbridge Gerry Puckett
Scientific computation
Office: MSB 3107
Phone: 601-4444 x4008
Email: egp@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 221A M W F 3:10 -- 4:00 PM in 140 Physics
Office Hours: W F 4:10 -- 5:00 PM in 3107 MSB

Luis Rademacher
Office: MSB 2228
Email: lrademac@math.ucdavis.edu
Dan Romik
Probability theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 2218
Phone: (530) 754-8092
Email: romik@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: None
Office Hours: N/A

Naoki Saito
Computational mathematics
Office: MSB 2142
Phone: 754-2121
Email: saito@math.ucdavis.edu
Anne Schilling
Combinatorics and representation theory
Office: MSB 3222
Phone: 554-2326
Email: anne@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A
Office Hours: W 2-3pm or ask me after any class

Jennifer Schultens
Topology, Knot Theory
Office: MSB 2103
Phone: 554-1381
Email: jcs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A, MAT 147
Office Hours: by appointment

Albert Schwarz
Mathematical physics and topology
Office: MSB 3105
Phone: 554-2815
Email: schwarz@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: 265 Math Quantum Mechanics
Office Hours: Thursday 10-10:50 AM

Steve Shkoller
Partial differential equations
Office: MSB 3101
Phone: 554-2632
Email: shkoller@math.ucdavis.edu
Alexander Soshnikov
Probability and mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3140
Phone: 554-9486
Email: soshniko@math.ucdavis.edu
Thomas Strohmer
Computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3144
Phone: 752-1071
Email: strohmer@math.ucdavis.edu
(John) Blake Temple
General relativity and shock waves
Office: MSB 3148
Phone: 752-2214
Email: temple@math.ucdavis.edu
Becca Thomases
Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations
Office: MSB 3214
Email: thomases@math.ucdavis.edu
Abigail Thompson
Topology
Office: MSB 2220
Phone: 601-4444 x4002
Email: thompson@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: 180
Office Hours: Monday 2:00-3:30

Craig A. Tracy
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3146
Email: tracy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22B, Sec 002; MAT 129
Office Hours: MF, 1-2 pm (22B); W 1-2 pm (129); M 5:30-7:00 pm in MSB 2112 (129)

Monica Vazirani
Representation theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 3224
Phone: 554-2596
Email: vazirani@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Mat 250a
Office Hours: Wed 5-6

Mariel Vazquez
Mathematical Biology, DNA Topology
Office: MSB 2150
Phone: 601-4444 x4010
Email: mariel@math.ucdavis.edu
Sam Walcott
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2148
Phone: 601-4444 x4004
Email: swalcott@math.ucdavis.edu
Andrew K. Waldron
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3138
Phone: 601-4444 x4012
Email: wally@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A + MAT 167
Office Hours: Open door policy + (21A MW 1pm-2pm, meet after class)

Qinglan Xia
Analysis and geometry
Office: MSB 3216
Phone: 601-4444 x4001
Email: qlxia@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 119A
Office Hours: Tu 1:00-2:30pm, or by appointment

Professional Researchers

Krener Assistant Professors

Lecturers

Korana Burke
Office: MSB 1118

Courses: MAT 17A
Office Hours: Mondays 11:15am-12:30pm in MSB 1118 (Calculus Room) Tuesdays 10am-12pm in MSB 1118 (Calculus Room)

David Matthew Cherney
Office: MSB 1109
Email: cherney@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D ....... MAT 150A
Office Hours: MAT 21D: T3, R2 ....... 150A: T2 R3

Ali A. Dad-del
Office: MSB 2135
Phone: 601-4444 x2008
Email: daddel@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MATH 17A, 22AL, 108
Office Hours: Monday 1:10-2:30 PM; Wednesday 1:10-2:30 PM; Friday 10:30-11:30 PM and/or by appt.

Gabriel Herczeg
Office: MSB 2149
Email: gherczeg@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16B, MAT 21D
Office Hours: MW 11:00-12:00 (16B), F 11:00-12:00 (21D)

Kevin Klapstein
Duane Kouba
Office: MSB 3135
Phone: 601-4444 x2007
Email: kouba@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A, MAT 21C
Office Hours: 3:30-5:30 MWF, 12- 2 T Th

John Mahoney
Office: Academic Surge 1029
Email: jmahoney@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16C
Office Hours: M 10-12

Lawrence J Marx
Office: MSB 2133
Phone: 601-4444 x2009
Email: marx@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Math 12 and Math 108
Office Hours: MWF, 2:20-3:30 and TuTh, 1:15-2:30

Carson Rogers
Office: MSB 1105
Email: csrogers@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17B and MAT 22B Section 001
Office Hours: MWF 11:30 am-12:30 pm (for 17B) and 1:30-2:30 pm (for 22B)

Edward (William) Tavernetti
Office: MSB 1103
Email: etavernetti@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Math 21B
Office Hours: 9:10-11:50 in MSB 1103

Rohit Parathundyil Thomas

Office: MSB 1101
Email: rthomas@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16A, MAT 390
Office Hours: M 1-3, W 2-4, F 3-5, and by appointment

Dowman Varn
Office: Academic Surge 1029
Email: dpvarn@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 12, MAT 21B, MAT 21C
Office Hours: MWF 4-6pm

Emeriti