Evelyn M. Silvia Scholarship for Future Mathematics Teachers

Established by generous donations from family and friends of Professor Evelyn Silvia, this scholarship honors the late professor's memory by recognizing and supporting students aspiring to be future mathematics teachers. Applications are accepted in the month of April of the Spring Quarter, and undergraduates of junior or senior standing with a major in mathematics, applied mathematics or statistics are eligible to apply.

For whom is this award given?

This scholarship is given to an undergraduate student wishing to pursue a teaching career in the areas of mathematics or statistics.

Who is eligible?

Any full-time junior or senior level undergraduate enrolled at UC Davis is eligible to take part in this competition. Candidates must also be a current major with either the Department of Mathematics or the Department of Statistics. Preference will be given to students who have not previously won this scholarship.

What is the award amount?

Typically $1,000.00 is awarded to a recipient. In exceptional cases, two awards may be given.

What is the selection process?

Applications are initially received by the Office of Undergraduate Honors and Scholarships and forwarded on for evaluation. A committee consisting of members from the Department of Mathematics and the Department of Statistics will review potential recipients and make their decision no later than February 1. The winning candidate(s) will be notified shortly thereafter.

Past Recipients: Evelyn M. Silvia Scholarship for Future Mathematics Teachers

  • 2007 (1st year) - Andrea Vanbuskirk
  • 2008 - Courtney Dostie
  • 2009 - Sara Cohen
  • 2010 - Christopher Broski
  • 2011 - Mick Petchprom
  • 2012 - Eva Dominguez
  • 2013 - Lea Riedel
  • 2014 - Morgan Imel
  • 2015 - Jaclyn Dewitt
  • 2016 - David Williamson
  • 2017 - David Williamson
  • 2018 - Yuk Shing Lam
  • 2019 - Qing Li
  • 2020 -  Victoria Beck
  • 2021 - Emily McPherson
  • 2022 - Miguel Torres-Mendez
  • 2023 - Not Awarded
  • 2024 - Catherine Luu