UC Davis Mathematics

Departmental News

Select a news year:2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002

May 2020
Anne Schilling to become next chair of the Mathematics Department
Anne Schilling will become chair of the Mathematics Department on July 1, 2020, when current chair Abigail Thompson completes her three year term. Asked for a comment, Prof. Schilling writes: “ It is an honor to serve as your next Department Chair. My aim is to make the department an even more vibrant place for mathematical research and teaching. In the face of the current emergency---more so than ever---this will require a community effort. I am sure our excellent faculty, students and staff can make this happen. I am happy to announce that Becca Thomases has agreed to be our new Graduate Program Committee (GPC) Chair, Tim Lewis will be our Undergraduate Program Committee (UPC) Chair, and Bruno Nachtergaele will serve as Vice Chair for Personnel starting July 1. I would like to thank Abby Thompson for her dedicated and tireless service as Department Chair for the last three years. I would also like to thank the outgoing Vice Chairs for their commitment to the department: Thomas Strohmer (GPC), Monica Vazirani (UPC), Misha Kapovich (Personnel).”