UC Davis Mathematics

Departmental News

Select a news year:2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002

May 2020
Mathematicians Study Evolution of the Corona Virus
Professors Javier Arsuaga and Mariel Vazquez have been awarded a seed grant from CeDAR and a RAPID NSF grant to develop mathematical/data science methods to study the evolution the novel corona virus.
May 2020
Anne Schilling to become next chair of the Mathematics Department
Anne Schilling will become chair of the Mathematics Department on July 1, 2020, when current chair Abigail Thompson completes her three year term. Asked for a comment, Prof. Schilling writes: “ It is an honor to serve as your next Department Chair. My aim is to make the department an even more vibrant place for mathematical research and teaching. In the face of the current emergency---more so than ever---this will require a community effort. I am sure our excellent faculty, students and staff can make this happen. I am happy to announce that Becca Thomases has agreed to be our new Graduate Program Committee (GPC) Chair, Tim Lewis will be our Undergraduate Program Committee (UPC) Chair, and Bruno Nachtergaele will serve as Vice Chair for Personnel starting July 1. I would like to thank Abby Thompson for her dedicated and tireless service as Department Chair for the last three years. I would also like to thank the outgoing Vice Chairs for their commitment to the department: Thomas Strohmer (GPC), Monica Vazirani (UPC), Misha Kapovich (Personnel).”
February 2020
Thompson awarded ACTA prize for Intellectual Freedom
Abigail Thompson has been recognized by the American Council of Trustees and Alumni (ACTA) as a Hero of Intellectual Freedom. Dr. Thompson will deliver the keynote address at ACTA’s ATHENA Roundtable Conference on November 13, 2020, where she will be introduced by University of Chicago President Robert Zimmer.
February 2020
Casals awarded Sloan Research Fellowship
Roger Casals is one of 20 mathematicians awarded a Sloan Research Fellowship for 2020. Sloan Fellowships were awarded to 126 early-career scholars who "represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Winners receive $75,000, which may be spent over a two-year term on any expense supportive of their research."
January 2020
Casals awarded CAREER grant
Roger Casals has been awarded a Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER) grant by the National Science Foundation. The CAREER Program offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization.