News for 2006

Select a news year: 2024 2023 2022 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002

November 2006
Undergrad Modeling Team Recognized
One of our undergraduate teams from the Math Modeling Experience, Bryan Bell, Yaroslav Gelfand, and Simpson Wong, competed in the prestigious Mathematical Contest in Modeling, and have had their solution designated as outstanding! For comparison, last year's contest had 664 entrants and 11 Outstanding designees (including teams from Harvard, MIT, RPI, Berkeley, Harvey Mudd, and Duke). Their report will be published in an upcoming issue of the UMAP Journal.
September 2006
Schilling Selected Chancellor's Fellow
Anne Schilling has been selected to be a 2006-2007 Chancellor's Fellow. She is the fourth Mathematics professor to receive this honor.
June 2006
Tracy Elected to Amer. Acad. of Arts & Sciences
Craig A. Tracy, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. This highly esteemed recognition places him amongst 195 of the finest minds and most influential leaders from this generation.
April 2006
Students Williams, Barad, Strawbridge, Thomas Are Recognized
Gerry Puckett is proud to announce graduate students Sarah Williams won a dissertation year fellowship, Mike Barad won an NSF Mathematical Sciences Postdoctoral Fellowship, and Eva Strawbridge won 2006-07 Professor for the Future Fellowship. Joel Thomas, a math undergraduate, won a CWEA Kirt Brooks Scholarship.
March 2006
Grad Wilson Receives Office of the President Postdoc Fellow
Robin Wilson, Ph.D. graduate student in Mathematics, one of Abigail Thompson's students, has been selected for the Office of the President's Postdoctoral Fellow for the 2006-07 academic year. One of the primary goals is to honor students with a "record of mentoring or outreach activites that promote access and opportunity in higher education." Robin will be employed by the University of California, Santa Barbara, under the supervision of Martin Scharlemann in the Department of Mathematics.
February 2006
Morris Awarded Sloan
Benjamin Morris has been selected for a 2006 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship. This prestigious award is given to scholars who show the most outstanding promise of making fundamental contributions to new knowledge.
February 2006
Grad Jesse Johnson Awarded NSF Fellowship
Jesse Johnson, Ph.D. graduate student in Mathematics, has been awarded an NSF Fellowship to Yale beginning Fall 2006. Jesse began his UCD studies in Fall 2002 after having completed his undergraduate work at Middlebury College in Vermont. Abigail Thompson is Jesse's dissertation adviser and his area of research is Heegaard splittings of 3-manifolds. He will do his postdoc at Yale under the supervision of Andrew Casson, a world-reknowned geometer, who was Greg Kuperberg's dissertation adviser.
January 2006
In Memory of Evelyn M. Silvia

Professor Evelyn Silvia, our colleague of 33 years, passed away on 1/21/06, after a courageous fight with ovarian cancer. She was 57 years old. The Mathematics Department has established the Evelyn M. Silvia Scholarship Fund for future mathematics teachers, in recognition of Evelyn's advocacy for the improvement of K-12 math education. The recipient of this scholarship will be announced at the Department's Annual Award Ceremony held in late May/early June each year.

For more details about Evelyn's life and contributions, peruse the articles below:

January 2006
Krener Wins Bode Lecture Prize
Arthur Krener has been selected as the winner of the 2006 Hendrik W. Bode Lecture Prize of the IEEE Control Systems Society. The award was announced at the 44th IEEE Conference on Decision and Control and the European Control Conference ECC 2005, held in Seville, Spain.