News for 2007

Select a news year: 2024 2023 2022 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002

December 2007
Grad Brandy Wiegers receives Chancellor's Award for Diversity and Community
Brandy Wiegers has received the Chancellor's Achievement Award for Diversity and Community for 2007-2008. Brandy is the third graduate student in our Department to be honored with this award. Momar Dieng and Yvonne Lai were previous recipients.
October 2007
Nachtergaele Elected Fellow of Amer. Assoc. for the Advancement of Science
Bruno Nachtergaele, professor and chair of the Department of Math, is among 471 members elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science this year. Bruno was honored for his work on mathematical physics especially quantum spin systems, and for editorial contributions to journals in mathematical physics.
September 2007
Tracy Awarded for Contributions to Applied Math
Craig A. Tracy received the 2007 Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics at the Joint AMS/SIAM meeting in New Orleans on January 6, 2007. The prize was awarded for his work with Widom on Random Matrix Theory, which contributes to "applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense."
September 2007
Grads Wissman, Lai, Kirkbride Found Outstanding
Brian Wissman, Yvonne Lai, and Corrine Kirkbride won UC Davis' 2007 Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award. They are three of only fifteen students honored on campus.