Departmental News

Select a news year:2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002

March 2015
Jesus De Loera featured in "The Algorithm of Mentorship"
The mentor profile of mathematics professor Jesús De Loera and computer science major Corina Putinar, “The Algorithm of Mentorship," is now live at the One UC Davis website.
November 2014
Jesus De Loera and Arthur Krener named 2015 AMS Fellows
The American Mathematical Society announced on November 3 the new class of 2015 AMS Fellows. Among the new Fellows are department faculty members Professor Jesus De Loera and Professor Emeritus Arthur Krener. According to the announcement, "The Fellows of the American Mathematical Society program recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics." For more details, see here.
June 2014
Yuji Nakatsukasa awarded 2014 Householder Prize
Yuji Nakatsukasa, who received his Ph.D. in 2011 working with Roland Freund has been awarded the 2014 Householder Prize, for the best Ph.D. thesis in numerical linear algebra.
Dr. Nakatsukasa is currently an Assistant Professor at the University of Tokyo.
June 2014
In Memoriam: Allan Edelson
We are sad to report the passing of emeritus Professor Allan Edelson on May 25, 2014. Dr. Edelson joined the UC Davis Mathematics Department in 1970 and played a key role in its growth in subsequent years. In addition to his position at Davis, he held visiting positions at the University of Florence, EPFL Switzerland, University of Louvin-la-Neuve, Belgium and University of Orleans, France.

Allan studied at UC Berkeley as an undergraduate and completed a Ph.D at SUNY Stony Brook in 1969. His research centered on partial differential equations. and is described at his Department web page:

He also served as Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs from 1988-91, and as Acting Vice Provost for Faculty Relations from 1991-92. Professor Edelson leaves behind three adult children, Daniel, Naomi, and Reuben, as well as four grandchildren, his mother Ione and his sister Donna.
June 2014
Strohmer has been awarded a 2014 SIAM Outstanding Paper Prize
The article "Phase Retrieval via Matrix Completion," which appeared in SIAM Journal on Imaging Sciences has been has been awarded a 2014 SIAM Outstanding Paper Prize. The paper was written by Mathematics Professor Thomas Strohmer with colleagues Candes, Eldar, and Voroninski. The prize will be awarded at the 2014 SIAM Annual Meeting to be held July 7-11, 2013, in Chicago.
May 2014
Congrats to GGAM grad Tom Chartrand on NDSEG Fellowship
Our second year GGAM student, Tom Chartrand, won the prestigious National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship. The Department of Defense (DoD) awards these fellowships in their efforts on increasing the number and quality of our nation's scientists and engineers.
February 2014
Math and Statistics Career Night - March 5th, 2014
Please join the Math and Statistics departments for Career Night on Wednesday, March 5 at in MSB 1147 at 6 p.m.
Featured speakers and more information can be found in this flier (PDF)
Please RSVP to attend here:
February 2014
Deanna Needell wins 2014 Sloan Fellowship
Deanna Needell is one of the 2014 Sloan Research Fellows.
Deanna received her Ph.D. in Mathematics at Davis in 2009, working with Prof. Roman Vershynin. She is now an Assistant Professor at Claremont McKenna College.
February 2014
Duane Kouba wins 2014 MAA Golden Section Distinguished Teaching Award
The award will be presented at the MAA Section meeting on Saturday, February 22, at Sonoma State University
January 2014
Naoki Saito new chair of the SIAM Group on Imaging Science
Naoki Saito has been elected as the new chair of the SIAM Activity Group on Imaging Science This Group brings together SIAM members and other scientists and engineers with an interest in the mathematical and computational aspects of imaging.
December 2013
Matthew Herman and Thomas Strohmer awarded best paper award by IEEE Signal Processing Society
The IEEE Signal Processing Society has selected a paper by Matthew Herman and Thomas Strohmer for the 2013 SPS Best Paper Award. The paper is "High-Resolution Radar via Compressed Sensing" IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, Volume: 57, No. 6, June 2009 and the award will be given in Florence Italy in 2014.
Matthew Herman received his Ph.D. at UC Davis in 2010, working with Prof. Strohmer.
December 2013
Conference on "Mathematics of Quantum Theory" to honor Prof. Albert Schwarz, May 23-May 26, 2014
UC Davis will be hosting a conference focusing on recent developments in topological quantum field theory and topological strings and celebrating sixty years of spectacular contributions to mathematics and physics by Professor Albert Schwarz.
November 2013
Anne Schilling elected to American Mathematical Society Editorial Boards Committee
The AMS has announced the results of its recent elections:
AMS Election Results UC Davis Mathematics Professor Anne Schilling was elected to the Editorial Boards Committee, Professor Jesus A. DeLoera is also an elected officer of the AMS, serving on the AMS Council.
October 2013
Math Among Leading Majors for Future Earnings
A report by NPR on a recent study at Georgetown University shows that Mathematics degrees rank among the top ten as predictors of future earnings. NPR summarizes the story on their website. Read the full study on Georgetown's website. (PDF)
October 2013
West Coast Operator Algebra Meeting, October 26-27, 2013

The West Coast Operator Algebra Seminar will be held Saturday, October 26, and Sunday, October 27, 2013 at UC Davis. The conference will start on Saturday morning and will finish before 2:00 pm on Sunday.

The following people have agreed to speak:

  • Jean Bellissard, Georgia Tech
  • Nigel Higson, Penn State
  • Kate Juschenko,Northwestern University
  • David Kerr, Texas A&M
  • Greg Kuperberg, UC Davis
  • Zhuang Niu, University of Wyoming
  • Ian Putnam, University of Victoria
  • Thomas Sinclair, UCLA
  • Jan Jitse Venselaar, Cal Tech
  • Dan Voiculescu, UC Berkeley
  • Nik Weaver, Washington University
  • Tim Wertz, UC Davis
  • Paulette Willis, University of Houston

Details at

September 2013
74th Annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition
The 74th Annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition will be held on Saturday, December 7, 2013. To participate in the competition, please sign up no later than 5:00 PM on Friday, October 4, 2013. To sign up, please fill out the following registration form:
September 2013
Sage Days 54 November 4-8, 2013
Sage Days 54 will be held from November 4-8, 2013. For more information, please refer to
September 2013
Fall Welcome Event for Undergraduate Math Majors
Fall Welcome Event for Undergraduate Math Majors to be held Tues. Oct 1. To RSVP to attend, please visit:
September 2013
Abigail Thompson featured on California State Library website
The calendar features "California women trailblazers in science, technology, engineering and math". Prof. Thompson is featured for the week of September 23-29, 2013. See
July 2013
2013 Math Department Awards Ceremony
The Department of Mathematics honors achievement in service and scholarship every year with our Department Awards Ceremony. This includes people from undergrads and graduate students to faculty and staff.
June 2013
Sam Walcott awarded Hellman Fellowship
Sam Walcott has been awarded a 2013-14 UC Davis Hellman Fellowship. Information about the Hellman Fellowship can be found at
May 2013
Jesus de Loera awarded 2013 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research
The 2013 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research has been awarded to Prof. Jesus de Loera. He shares the prize with Mani Tripathi of Physics.