News for 2013

Select a news year: 2024 2023 2022 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002

December 2013
Matthew Herman and Thomas Strohmer awarded best paper award by IEEE Signal Processing Society
The IEEE Signal Processing Society has selected a paper by Matthew Herman and Thomas Strohmer for the 2013 SPS Best Paper Award. The paper is "High-Resolution Radar via Compressed Sensing" IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, Volume: 57, No. 6, June 2009 and the award will be given in Florence Italy in 2014.
Matthew Herman received his Ph.D. at UC Davis in 2010, working with Prof. Strohmer.
December 2013
Conference on "Mathematics of Quantum Theory" to honor Prof. Albert Schwarz, May 23-May 26, 2014
UC Davis will be hosting a conference focusing on recent developments in topological quantum field theory and topological strings and celebrating sixty years of spectacular contributions to mathematics and physics by Professor Albert Schwarz.
November 2013
Anne Schilling elected to American Mathematical Society Editorial Boards Committee
The AMS has announced the results of its recent elections:
AMS Election Results UC Davis Mathematics Professor Anne Schilling was elected to the Editorial Boards Committee, Professor Jesus A. DeLoera is also an elected officer of the AMS, serving on the AMS Council.
October 2013
Math Among Leading Majors for Future Earnings
A report by NPR on a recent study at Georgetown University shows that Mathematics degrees rank among the top ten as predictors of future earnings. NPR summarizes the story on their website. Read the full study on Georgetown's website. (PDF)
October 2013
West Coast Operator Algebra Meeting, October 26-27, 2013

The West Coast Operator Algebra Seminar will be held Saturday, October 26, and Sunday, October 27, 2013 at UC Davis. The conference will start on Saturday morning and will finish before 2:00 pm on Sunday.

The following people have agreed to speak:

  • Jean Bellissard, Georgia Tech
  • Nigel Higson, Penn State
  • Kate Juschenko,Northwestern University
  • David Kerr, Texas A&M
  • Greg Kuperberg, UC Davis
  • Zhuang Niu, University of Wyoming
  • Ian Putnam, University of Victoria
  • Thomas Sinclair, UCLA
  • Jan Jitse Venselaar, Cal Tech
  • Dan Voiculescu, UC Berkeley
  • Nik Weaver, Washington University
  • Tim Wertz, UC Davis
  • Paulette Willis, University of Houston

Details at

September 2013
74th Annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition
The 74th Annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition will be held on Saturday, December 7, 2013. To participate in the competition, please sign up no later than 5:00 PM on Friday, October 4, 2013. To sign up, please fill out the following registration form:
September 2013
Sage Days 54 November 4-8, 2013
Sage Days 54 will be held from November 4-8, 2013. For more information, please refer to
September 2013
Fall Welcome Event for Undergraduate Math Majors
Fall Welcome Event for Undergraduate Math Majors to be held Tues. Oct 1. To RSVP to attend, please visit:
September 2013
Abigail Thompson featured on California State Library website
The calendar features "California women trailblazers in science, technology, engineering and math". Prof. Thompson is featured for the week of September 23-29, 2013. See
July 2013
2013 Math Department Awards Ceremony
The Department of Mathematics honors achievement in service and scholarship every year with our Department Awards Ceremony. This includes people from undergrads and graduate students to faculty and staff.
June 2013
Sam Walcott awarded Hellman Fellowship
Sam Walcott has been awarded a 2013-14 UC Davis Hellman Fellowship. Information about the Hellman Fellowship can be found at
May 2013
Jesus de Loera awarded 2013 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research
The 2013 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research has been awarded to Prof. Jesus de Loera. He shares the prize with Mani Tripathi of Physics.
May 2013
Fields Medalist Shing-Tung Yau gives Colloquium
Shing-Tung Yau gave the Mathematics Department colloquium on May 3, 2013. Yau's talk was titled "String Theory and Geometry of The Universe’s Hidden Dimension" and slides of the talk are available here
April 2013
Wenjing Liao wins Graduate Student Teaching Award
Wenjing Liao has been selected to receive a 2013 Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award. This award, which is co-sponsored by the Graduate Council and the Office of Graduate Studies, recognizes excellence in teaching by graduate students on the UC Davis campus. The presentation of the awards will be held at a special ceremony and reception on May 15, 2013.
April 2013
Brandon Dutra awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowship
Brandon Dutra, a graduate student in the Graduate Group in Applied Mathematics, has been awarded a highly competitive National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. Brandon's award, in the area of Algebra, Number Theory, and Combinatorics, was one of five awarded in mathematics at a UC Campus
April 2013
Dr. Kevin Luli to join the Department
Dr. Kevin Luli will be joining the Department as an Assistant Professor in Fall 2013. Dr. Luli received his Ph.D. in Mathematics from Princeton University in 2010 and since then has been a Gibbs Assistant Professor at Yale University. His research is in the area of analysis, and has connections and applications to Harmonic Analysis, Whitney extensions, Multivariate Interpolation/approximation, PDEs arising from fluid mechanics, Algebraic Geometry and Theoretical Computer Science.
January 2013
Former KAP Ian Agol awarded the Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry by the American Mathematical Society
The Veblen Prize is awarded every three years in recognition of a notable research memoir in geometry or topology published in the preceding six years. The 2013 Veblen Prize was awarded to Ian Agol, for his many fundamental contributions to hyperbolic geometry, 3-manifold topology, and geometric group theory and to Daniel Wise, for his deep work establishing subgroup separability (LERF) for a wide class of groups and for introducing and developing with Fr�d�ric Haglund the theory of special cube complexes which are of fundamental importance for the topology of three-dimensional manifolds. Now a professor at UC Berkeley, Ian came to UC Davis following his Ph.D. at UCSD in 1998 to work with UC Davis professors Joel Hass and Bill Thurston.