UC Davis Mathematics

People in the Department of Mathematics

Regular Faculty

Photo of Arsuaga
Javier Arsuaga
Mathematical Molecular Biology and Genetics
Office: MSB 2115
Phone: 530-754-0308
Email: jarsuaga@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Babson
Eric Babson
Algebraic and topological combinatorics
Office: MSB 2109
Phone: 530-754-0306
Email: babson@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Bai
Zhaojun Bai
Scientific computing
Office: Kemper 3005
Phone: 530-752-4874
Email: bai@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Benham
Craig John Benham
Biomathematical sciences
Office: MSB 2144
Phone: 530-754-0386
Email: cjbenham@ucdavis.edu
Photo of Biello
Joseph Biello
Applied Math, Atmospheric Sciences
Office: MSB 3150
Phone: 530-754-0487
Email: biello@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Bremer
James Bremer
Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing
Office: MSB 2230
Phone: 530-754-6887
Email: bremer@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Carlsson
Erik L Carlsson
Representation theory, algebraic geometry, combinatorics
Office: MSB 2103
Phone: 530-754-0274
Email: ecarlsson@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Casals
Roger Casals
Contact and Symplectic Topology
Office: MSB 3214
Email: casals@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22B
Office Hours: M 4:30-5:30pm, W 3-4pm

Photo of Chaudhuri
Rishidev Chaudhuri
Neural Computation and Neuroscience
Office: MSB 2148
Email: rchaudhuri@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 226A
Office Hours: M 1-2p; W 12-1p

Photo of De Loera
Jesus De Loera
Discrete & computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3228
Phone: 530-754-0502
Email: deloera@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Dimofte
Tudor Dimofte
Structures in Quantum Field Theory
Office: MSB 3133
Phone: 530-754-0468
Email: tudor@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Fannjiang
Albert Fannjiang
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3226
Phone: 530-754-0499
Email: fannjiang@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Freund
Roland W Freund
Scientific computing
Office: MSB 2140
Phone: 530-752-1660
Email: freund@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D
Office Hours: M 12:45 - 2:15 pm, W 1:15 - 2:45 pm

Photo of Fuchs
Elena Fuchs
Geometric group theory and number theory
Office: MSB 3109
Phone: 530-754-0393
Email: efuchs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 115A, MAT 250A
Office Hours: MW 10-11AM (115A); MW 11AM-12PM (250A)

Photo of Gorskiy
Evgeny Gorskiy
Algebraic Geometry, Representation Theory
Office: MSB 2113
Phone: 530-754-0307
Email: egorskiy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 150A
Office Hours: MWF 3-4pm

Photo of Gravner
Janko Gravner
Probability
Office: MSB 3210
Phone: 530-752-0825
Email: gravner@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 127A, MAT235A
Office Hours: M 10-11a; T 12-1p; W 10-11a

Photo of Gronbech-Jensen
Niels Gronbech-Jensen
Applied Mathematics
Office: MSB 3212
Phone: 530-752-5335
Email: ngjensen@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Guy
Robert Guy
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2136
Phone: 530-754-9201
Email: guy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Math 128A
Office Hours: M 4:15-5:30; W 11:30-12:30; Th 4-5:30

Photo of Hass
Joel Hass
Geometry and topology
Office: MSB 2222
Phone: 530-754-0236
Email: hass@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A
Office Hours: Monday 2-3, Wednesday 12-1

Photo of Hunter
John Hunter
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3230
Phone: 530-754-0503
Email: hunter@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D-B
Office Hours: M 3:15-4:30p; W 4:00-5:15pm

Photo of Jacob
Adam J. Jacob
Office: MSB 2111
Phone: 530-754-8158
Email: ajacob@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 218A
Office Hours: Thursday 4:30-5:30 and by appointment

Photo of Kapovich
Michael Kapovich
Hyperbolic geometry, geometric topology, geometric group theory
Office: MSB 2224
Phone: 530-754-0224
Email: kapovich@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Koeppe
Matthias Koeppe
Discrete Optimization
Office: MSB 3143
Phone: 530-754-0479
Email: mkoeppe@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Kuperberg
Greg Kuperberg
Topology and combinatorics
Office: MSB 2216
Email: greg@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Lewis
Timothy Lewis
Mathematical physiology, neuroscience
Office: MSB 2146
Phone: 530-754-0385
Email: tjlewis@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT-207A
Office Hours: W 10:00AM-11:00AM, R noon-1:00PM, or by appointment

Photo of Liu
Fu Liu
Enumerative and Algebraic Combinatorics
Office: MSB 3220
Phone: 530-754-0496
Email: fuliu@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 108
Office Hours: M 9-10am, W 3:10-4:10pm, R 10:30-11:30am

Photo of Luli
Kevin Luli
Analysis
Office: MSB 3136
Phone: 530-754-0472
Email: kluli@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Luu
Martin Thanh Luu
Office: MSB 3238
Phone: 530-754-0505
Email: mluu@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 115A
Office Hours: M 9:30 - 11:30

Photo of Ma
Shiqian Ma
Optimization
Office: MSB 3141
Phone: 530-754-0476
Email: sqma@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Morris
Ben Morris
Probability theory, stochastic processes
Office: MSB 2105
Phone: 530-754-0286
Email: morris@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Mulase
Motohico Mulase
Complex geometry
Office: MSB 3103
Phone: 530-754-0390
Email: mulase@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21B
Office Hours: T 2-5p

Photo of Nachtergaele
Bruno Nachtergaele
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3142
Phone: 530-754-0478
Email: bxn@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Puckett
Elbridge Gerry Puckett
Scientific computation
Office: MSB 3107
Phone: 530-754-0392
Email: egpuckett@ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 167 M W F 3:10 - 4:00 IN 230 WELMAN HALL
Office Hours: M W 4:10 - 5:00 PM in 3107 MSB

Photo of Rademacher
Luis Rademacher
Machine Learning, Data, Convex Geometry
Office: MSB 2228
Phone: 530-754-0209
Email: lrademac@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 145, MAT 168
Office Hours: MW 4:20-5:10pm

Photo of Romik
Dan Romik
Number theory, combinatorics, probability theory, experimental mathematics
Office: MSB 2218
Email: romik@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Saito
Naoki Saito
Computational mathematics
Office: MSB 2142
Phone: 530-754-2121
Email: saito@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 280
Office Hours: By appointment

Photo of Schilling
Anne Schilling
Combinatorics, representation theory, mathematical physics, probability
Office: MSB 3222
Phone: 530-754-0497
Email: anne@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Schultens
Jennifer Schultens
Topology, Knot Theory
Office: MSB 2101
Phone: 530-754-0267
Email: jcs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A, Reading groups
Office Hours: By appointment

Photo of Shkoller
Steve Shkoller
Partial differential equations
Office: MSB 3101
Phone: 530-754-0389
Email: shkoller@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Soshnikov
Alexander Soshnikov
Probability and mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3140
Phone: 530-754-0475
Email: soshniko@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Starkston
Laura Starkston
Topology
Office: MSB 2238
Email: lstarkston@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 022A
Office Hours: M 4:10-5:00pm, F 2-2:50pm

Photo of Strohmer
Thomas Strohmer
Mathematics of Data Science
Office: MSB 3144
Phone: 530-752-1071
Email: strohmer@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Temple
(John) Blake Temple
General relativity and shock waves
Office: MSB 3148
Phone: 530-752-2214
Email: temple@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Thomases
Becca Thomases
Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations
Office: MSB 2138
Phone: 530-754-0491
Email: thomases@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 119A, MAT 390
Office Hours: Tues: 2 - 3 pm, Thurs: 3 - 4 pm

Photo of Thompson
Abigail Thompson
Topology
Office: MSB 2220
Phone: 530-754-0242
Email: thompson@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Tracy
Craig A. Tracy
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3146
Phone: 530-754-0481
Email: tracy@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Vazirani
Monica Vazirani
Representation theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 3224
Phone: 530-754-0498
Email: vazirani@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Mat 180, Mat 22A
Office Hours: 22A: Mon 5-6; Fridays 5-6; 180: Mondays 6-7; Fri 5:30-6:30

Photo of Vazquez
Mariel Vazquez
Mathematical Biology, DNA Topology
Office: MSB 2150
Phone: 530-754-0383
Email: mariel@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Walcott
Sam Walcott
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2148
Phone: 530-754-0384
Email: swalcott@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Waldron
Andrew K. Waldron
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3138
Phone: 530-754-0473
Email: wally@math.ucdavis.edu
Photo of Xia
Qinglan Xia
Analysis and geometry
Office: MSB 3216
Phone: 530-754-0493
Email: qlxia@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 201A
Office Hours: Monday 11-noon, or by appointment.

Lecturers

Emeriti