People in the Department of Mathematics

Regular Faculty

Javier Arsuaga
Mathematical Molecular Biology and Genetics
Office: MSB 2115
Phone: 601-4444 x4015
Email: jarsuaga@math.ucdavis.edu
Eric Babson
Algebraic and topological combinatorics
Office: MSB 2109
Phone: 601-4444 x4017
Email: babson@math.ucdavis.edu
Zhaojun Bai
Scientific computing
Office: Kemper 3005
Phone: 752-4874
Email: bai@math.ucdavis.edu
Craig John Benham
Biomathematical sciences
Office: MSB 2144
Phone: 554-9137
Email: benham@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT017B, MAT185A
Office Hours: MW 12:30 - 1:30

Joseph Biello
Applied Math, Atmospheric Sciences
Office: MSB 3150
Phone: 554-1209
Email: biello@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D, MAT 118B
Office Hours: W 10-11 am , Th 12-2 pm

James Bremer
Harmonic Analysis
Office: MSB 2230
Phone: 4-6887
Email: bremer@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT21B
Office Hours: MW 4-5, F 3-4

Erik L Carlsson
Office: MSB 2101
Email: ecarlsson@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21C
Office Hours: W 2-4p, Th 2-3pm

Angela Cheer
Scientific computation
Office: MSB 2138
Email: cheer@math.ucdavis.edu
Jesus De Loera
Discrete & computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3228
Phone: 554-9702
Email: deloera@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 250B
Office Hours: Monday + Wednesday after class (11-12) or by appointment.

Tudor Dimofte
Office: MSB 3133
Email: tudor@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 280
Office Hours: T 1-3p, or by appointment

Albert Fannjiang
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3226
Email: fannjiang@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT111
Office Hours: WF 2:15-3pm

Roland W Freund
Scientific computing
Office: MSB 2140
Phone: 752-1660
Email: freund@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21D, MAT 128B
Office Hours: WF 12:45 - 1:15 pm (21D); M 12:45 - 2:45 pm (128B)

Elena Fuchs
Office: MSB 3109
Phone: 601-4444 x2005
Email: efuchs@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 115B
Office Hours: W 2-4PM

Evgeny Gorskiy
Algebraic Geometry, Representation Theory
Office: MSB 2113
Email: egorskiy@math.ucdavis.edu
Janko Gravner
Probability
Office: MSB 3210
Phone: 752-0825
Email: gravner@math.ucdavis.edu
Niels Gronbech-Jensen
Applied Mathematics
Office: MSB 3212
Phone: 2-5335
Email: ngjensen@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT22A
Office Hours: MWF 9:30am-10:30am

Robert Guy
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2136
Phone: 4-9201
Email: guy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: Math 228B
Office Hours: M 4-5, F 3-4

Joel Hass
Geometry and topology
Office: MSB 2222
Phone: 601-4444 x4003
Email: hass@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 240A
Office Hours: Monday 1-3

John Hunter
Applied mathematics
Office: MSB 3230
Phone: 601-4444 x4016
Email: hunter@math.ucdavis.edu
Adam J. Jacob
Office: MSB 2111
Email: ajacob@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 205
Office Hours: W, Th 2:30-3:30

Michael Kapovich
Complex & hyperbolic manifolds, topology
Office: MSB 2224
Phone: 554-2752
Email: kapovich@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21C
Office Hours: Wednesday, 1:10-2:00 PM

Matthias Koeppe
Discrete Optimization
Office: MSB 3143
Phone: 554-2817
Email: mkoeppe@math.ucdavis.edu
Greg Kuperberg
Topology and combinatorics
Office: MSB 2216
Email: greg@math.ucdavis.edu
Timothy Lewis
Mathematical physiology, neuroscience
Office: MSB 2146
Phone: 601-4444 x4006
Email: tjlewis@math.ucdavis.edu
Fu Liu
Enumerative and Algebraic Combinatorics
Office: MSB 3220
Phone: 601-4444 x4018
Email: fuliu@math.ucdavis.edu
Kevin Luli
Analysis
Office: MSB 3136
Phone: 601-4444 x4005
Email: kluli@math.ucdavis.edu
Martin Thanh Luu
Office: MSB 3238
Email: mluu@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22A
Office Hours: W 4-6

Ben Morris
Probability theory, stochastic processes
Office: MSB 2105
Phone: 601-4444 x4009
Email: morris@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 16B
Office Hours: W 11-12, F 2-3

Motohico Mulase
Complex geometry
Office: MSB 3103
Email: mulase@math.ucdavis.edu
Bruno Nachtergaele
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3142
Phone: 601-4444 x4011
Email: bxn@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT201B
Office Hours: Wed 2-3pm, Fri 9-10am, or by appointment.

Brian Osserman
Algebraic Geometry
Office: MSB 3218
Phone: 341-3624
Email: osserman@math.ucdavis.edu
Elbridge Gerry Puckett
Scientific computation
Office: MSB 3107
Phone: 601-4444 x4008
Email: egp@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22A M W F 11:00 -- 11:50 AM in 1227 HARING
Office Hours: M W 12:10 - 1:00 PM in 3107 MSB

Luis Rademacher
Office: MSB 2228
Email: lrademac@math.ucdavis.edu
Dan Romik
Probability theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 2218
Phone: (530) 754-8092
Email: romik@math.ucdavis.edu
Naoki Saito
Computational mathematics
Office: MSB 2142
Phone: 754-2121
Email: saito@math.ucdavis.edu
Anne Schilling
Combinatorics and representation theory
Office: MSB 3222
Phone: 554-2326
Email: anne@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21A; MAT 246
Office Hours: M 2-3pm or ask me after any class

Jennifer Schultens
Topology, Knot Theory
Office: MSB 2103
Phone: 554-1381
Email: jcs@math.ucdavis.edu
Albert Schwarz
Mathematical physics and topology
Office: MSB 3105
Phone: 554-2815
Email: schwarz@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: TOPOLOGY 215B
Office Hours: Friday 10:30-11:30

Steve Shkoller
Partial differential equations
Office: MSB 3101
Phone: 554-2632
Email: shkoller@math.ucdavis.edu
Alexander Soshnikov
Probability and mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3140
Phone: 554-9486
Email: soshniko@math.ucdavis.edu
Thomas Strohmer
Computational mathematics
Office: MSB 3144
Phone: 752-1071
Email: strohmer@math.ucdavis.edu
(John) Blake Temple
General relativity and shock waves
Office: MSB 3148
Phone: 752-2214
Email: temple@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 25, MAT 280
Office Hours: MWF 1:10-2pm(MAT 25), MWF 12-1pm(MAT 280)

Becca Thomases
Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations
Office: MSB 3214
Phone: 554-2988
Email: thomases@math.ucdavis.edu
Abigail Thompson
Topology
Office: MSB 2220
Phone: 601-4444 x4002
Email: thompson@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: 21B
Office Hours: Monday 2:00-3:50

Craig A. Tracy
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3146
Email: tracy@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 22B, MAT 185A
Office Hours: MW 1:30-2:30 PM (22B); W 11:00-11:50 AM (185A) and M 5:30-7:00 PM (MSB 2112, 185A)

Monica Vazirani
Representation theory, combinatorics
Office: MSB 3224
Phone: 554-2596
Email: vazirani@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 21c, Mat 150b, UA
Office Hours: Mon 2-2:40 (21c); Mon 5-6 (UA); Wed 5-6 (150b); Fri 2-2:40 (21c)

Mariel Vazquez
Mathematical Biology, DNA Topology
Office: MSB 2150
Phone: 601-4444 x4010
Email: mariel@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 17B, MAT 180
Office Hours: T 4-5p (MAT17B); T 3-4p (MAT180)

Sam Walcott
Mathematical Biology
Office: MSB 2148
Phone: 601-4444 x4004
Email: swalcott@math.ucdavis.edu
Andrew K. Waldron
Mathematical physics
Office: MSB 3138
Phone: 601-4444 x4012
Email: wally@math.ucdavis.edu

Courses: MAT 119A
Office Hours: Open door policy + 2-2:30pm MWF

Qinglan Xia
Analysis and geometry
Office: MSB 3216
Phone: 601-4444 x4001
Email: qlxia@math.ucdavis.edu

Professional Researchers

Krener Assistant Professors

Lecturers

Emeriti